1

This is door number one!  It is the main door to the Balmoral Hotel, 1 Princes Street.

How excited I am!!

Way back when I first had this idea, the thought of the starting photo scared me a little.  I knew it had to be a bit grand and it had to be a very recognisable door on a very well-known street.  Well I don’t know about you but when I think of Edinburgh I think firstly of the Royal Mile (and secondly of Princes Street).  Now, I’ve lived here all my life and it certainly held the top spot in my mind but can you imagine my surprise when I looked up “1 Royal Mile” only to find out that it isn’t a street at all!  It’s actually the High Street.  I thought it over and of course it makes sense, in retrospect, but I was a bit disappointed for two reasons.

Reason 1:  I couldn’t photograph the imposing wooden doors of Edinburgh Castle as my first door.

Reason 2:  When I was in primary school I went on a class trip to Edinburgh Castle and fell in love with it.  I asked one of the guides “Is this the Queens house?” and she thought for a minute then told me “Yes I suppose it is!  Although she has quite a few houses, have you heard of Buckingham Palace or Windsor Castle?”.  I told her I had but it was of no consequence to me because they weren’t in Scotland so I couldn’t visit.  I got home that evening and told my mum I wanted to write a letter to her to thank her for such a wonderful trip around her house and gardens.  I remember writing it in purple crayon and drawing a stamp on the envelope.  I didn’t get a reply, oddly enough… but now I know why; I simply had the address wrong!

